Weather and Avalanche Log

Date Map Thumb Northern Areas Southern Areas Wind Speed Wind Direction Avalanche Activity Notes
Wednesday 11/30/22 0.1/1" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.2/2" Carrot
0.2/2" Madison
0.1/1" Sawtelle
0.2/2" Fisher
15-30 G50 SW-NW
Tuesday 11/29/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lobo
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
0-10 G20 W-NW
Monday 11/28/22 0.2/2" Alpine
0.4/7" Shower
0.3/6" Timber
0.4/7" Carrot
0.8/10" Madison
0.6/6" Wt Elephant
0.8/12" Fisher
15-35 G70 NW-SW

Sustained winds averaging 30 mph on Sunday

Sunday 11/27/22 0.6/4" Alpine
0.4/4" Shower
0.2/3" Lobo
0.0/0" Carrot
0.2/2" Black Bear
0.1/2" Sawtelle
0.1/1" Fisher
15-25
G30-40
W-SW Skier triggered avalanche NE aspect Bridger. ;
Skier triggered hard wind slab at Bridger;
BSSP Trigger Avalanche - Cold Springs;
Kicking wind slabs on Blackmore Trail
Saturday 11/26/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25
G30-40
SW-W-NW Skier triggered wind slab east aspect Hyalite
Friday 11/25/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lobo
0.2/2" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.1/1" Fisher
10-15 G30 W-NW Natural loose snow and rollerballs, Beehive and Bridger

Observers reported strong mid-level winds in the Bridger Range yesterday (11/24)

Thursday 11/24/22 0.6/7" Alpine
0.6/7" Lick Creek
0.5/7" Timber
0.3/5" Carrot
0.2/3" Madison
0.2/2" Sawtelle
0.1/2" Fisher
10 G20 SW-NW Small avalanche Lower Nose;
Skier triggered avalanche in Beehive;
Human-Triggered Avalanche In Bridger Gully;
Large natural avalanche on deeper weak layer at Big Sky
Wednesday 11/23/22 0.1/1" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.2/4" Timber
0.3/4" Carrot
0.2/2" Black Bear
0.1/2" Sawtelle
0.2/2" Fisher
10-20
G30-40
SW-W
NW-Sawtelle
Skier triggered wind slab at Bridger
Tuesday 11/22/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G25 SW-NW Explosive triggered hard slabs at Big Sky;
Loose snow slides in Beehive
Monday 11/21/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Wt Elephant
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G25 SW-NW
Sunday 11/20/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 SW-NW
Saturday 11/19/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G25-40 NW-W Natural Avalanche in Beehive Basin
Friday 11/18/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G28 W-NW Wind slabs mid-slope at Bridger Bowl;
Large Natural Avalanche on Hyalite Peak

@5am ridgetop temps -5F to -10F

Thursday 11/17/22 0.1/2" Alpine
0.4/13" Lick Creek
0.1/2" Lone
0.1/3" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.1/2" Fisher
5-15
G15-30
NW Small wind slabs at Bridger and Beehive
Wednesday 11/16/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.1/2" Shower
0.1/2" Lone
0.1/1" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0"
0.2/3" Fisher
5-20 G40 W-N
Tuesday 11/15/22 0.1/2" Brackett
0.3/6" Shower
0.2/6" Timber
0.2/5" Carrot
0.1/2" Madison
0.1/2" Wt Elephant
0.2/3" Fisher
10-20 G40
Cooke 15-30 G50
W-NW
Monday 11/14/22 0.0/1" Bridger
0.1/1" Shower
0.0/1" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/1" Fisher
10-20
G20-30
NW-N
Sunday 11/13/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G20-30 W-NW Natural Avalanche Henderson Mountain
Saturday 11/12/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
5-25 G35 W-SW
NW Cooke
Wind slabs on Hyalite Peak;
Large collapses near Cooke City;
Avalanche Crowns in Tepee Basin
Friday 11/11/22 0.1/4" Bridger
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15 G25-35
30 G35 Bridgers
NW-W Wind Slab triggered on Bradley’s Meadow
Thursday 11/10/22 0.2/2" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.3/3" Lone
0.7/7" Carrot
0.7/7" Madison
1.1/10" Wt Elephant
0.4/4" Fisher
10-15 G 25-35
(50 in Hyalite)
SW-W Remote triggered wind slab N. Bridgers
Wednesday 11/9/22 0.1/1" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.5/5" Carrot
0.6/5" Madison
1.0/8" Sawtelle
0.8/6" Fisher
10-15 G25-35 S-SE-E
N-Cooke
Remote trigger on Blackmore
Tuesday 11/8/22 0.8/8" Brackett
0.6/6" Shower
0.8/10" Lone
1.2/10" Carrot
1.5/11" Madison
1.1/10" Sawtelle
1.0/12" Fisher
10-30 G50-60 SE-SW-W Small Avalanche in Bridger Bowl;
Storm slabs at Bridger Bowl
Monday 11/7/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.2/2" Shower
0.1/1" Timber
0.1/1" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G59 SW-SE
Sunday 11/6/22 0.1/1" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.3/2" Carrot
0.4/3" Madison
0.3/2" Wt Elephant
0.9/5" Fisher
15-20 G55 W-SW
Saturday 11/5/22 0.1/2" Bridger
0.3/3" Shower
0.3/3" Timber
0.8/10" Carrot
1.0/10" Madison
1.0/10" Sawtelle
1.0/10" Fisher
15-30 G50 SE-S-W Avalanche in October Bowl
Friday 11/4/22 0.0/0" Alpine
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lobo
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
5-15 G35 W-SW
Thursday 11/3/22 0.5/7" Bridger
0.4/6" Shower
0.4/5" Lone
0.3/4" Carrot
0.2/2" Madison
0.4/5" Sawtelle
0.1/1" Fisher
5-15 G55 W-NW
Wednesday 11/2/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Lick Creek
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
15-30 G58 S-W
Tuesday 11/1/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Sawtelle
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G30-50 S-W
Monday 10/31/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G40 SW-NW
Sunday 10/30/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.0/0" Fisher
15 G 30 SW-NW
Saturday 10/29/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G25 W
Friday 10/28/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G20-40 SW-W
Thursday 10/27/22 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.1/1" Madison
/
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G20-40 SW-W Micro wind slabs
Wednesday 10/26/22 0.0/0" Bridger
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lobo
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.1/1" Fisher
Tuesday 10/25/22 0.1/1" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.2/2" Timber
0.3/3" Carrot
0.4/4" Madison
/
0.2/2" Fisher
15-25 G55 W
Monday 10/24/22 1.5/15" Bridger
0.4/5" Shower
0.5/5" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
/
0.2/2" Fisher
5-10 G40 SE-NW Avalanche Out of Hidden Gully;
Point Release on South of Saddle Peak;
Natural Avalanche at Big Sky Resort
Sunday 10/23/22 0.9/13" Bridger
1.3/12" Shower
1.2/16" Lone
2.1/11" Carrot
1.2/10" Madison
/
0.7/5" Fisher
5-15 G15-30 SW-NW Avalanche seen from road near Beehive Basin

@0600 Temps in teens and 20s F

Saturday 10/22/22 0.8/5" Bridger
0.7/4" Shower
1.2/7" Lone
1.3/7" Carrot
1.2/6" Madison
/
1.0/6" Fisher
15-20 G30-40 S-W

@0600 Rain/snow line dropping overnight. Snowfall depths approximate.