Weather and Avalanche Log

Precip and wind are taken between 4-6 a.m. and are for the previous 24 hours. Precipitation is recorded in SWE from SNOTEL and Ski Areas
SNOTEL Locations: Brackett - Bridgers; Shower - Hyalite; Lone - Big Sky; Carrot - S. Madison; Madison - W. Yellowstone; Fisher - Cooke
Ski Area SWE: Alpine - Bridger; Timber - YC

Date Northern Areas Southern Areas Wind Speed Wind Direction Avalanche Activity Notes
Friday 11/24/17 .3/2" Timber
.3/Rain Shower
.2/Rain Brackett
.1/Rain Carrot
.1/Rain Fisher
-.2 Madison
20-50 West

Bridger Bowl won't be opening due to loss of snow. 

Thursday 11/23/17 0" 0" Carrot
0" Madison
.1/0" Fisher
20-30 G47 W-SW

Freezing level at 0600 near 10,000'.

Wednesday 11/22/17 .5/0" Brackett
.1/1" Shower
.1/1" Timber
.2/2" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
.2/2" Fisher
15-30 G44 W-SW

Temps above freezing @ 8,500'

Tuesday 11/21/17 Brackett .7/4"
Shower .2/1"
Timber 5"
Carrot .7/5"
Madison .4/3"
Fisher 1.0/7"
20-30 G55 W
Monday 11/20/17 0" Bridger
0" Shower
.2/2" Timber
0" 35-45 G 56
SW

Temps: mid 20's in N; high teens in S

Sunday 11/19/17 0" 0" 20-30 G40 W
Saturday 11/18/17 .1/1" Brackett
.1/2" Shower
.1/2" Lone
.2/2" Carrot
0" Madison
.1/1" Fisher
15-30 G45 SW
SW-NW Cooke
Friday 11/17/17 .2/2" Shower
.2/2" Lone
.2/2" Timber
0 Bridger
1.5"/10" Carrot
.9"/8" Madison
1.0"/8" Fisher
15-30 mph W-SW Large natural on east side of Abundance in Cooke

Temps were warm during the storm, hovering right around freezing. Lots of water down south with high density snow.  

Thursday 11/16/17 0" Brackett
0" Shower
.1/1" Lone
.6/4" Carrot
.6/4" Madison
.5/5" Fisher
15-30 G50 S-SW Natural cornice failure triggered small slab avalanche, Beehive Basin.

weather @ 0700

Wednesday 11/15/17 0" 0" 15-25 G35
G44 Lulu
W-SW
Tuesday 11/14/17 .2/2" Alpine
4" Bridger
.3/6" Lone
.3/6" Timber
.3/5" Shower
.2/2" Carrot
.2/2" Fisher
.3/3" Madison
15-30 West

Wind gusts around Cooke City were in the 40s. 

Monday 11/13/17 0" 0" 20-40 G45 W-SW

Very strong winds from the W-SW, transporting lots of snow. 

Sunday 11/12/17 .1/1" Brackett
.3/3" Shower
.4/3" Lone
.1/1" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
.4/4" Fisher
15-30 W-SW

Most snow fell yesterday morning.

Saturday 11/11/17 .8/8" Brackett
.1/1" Shower
.3/5" Lone
.3/2" Carrot
.5/5" Madison
.6/6" Fisher
10-20 G30 W-SW
Friday 11/10/17 0" Brackett
0" Shower
.1/1" Lone
.1/1" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
.2/2" Fisher
10-20 G35-45 W-SW
Thursday 11/9/17 0" 0" 15-25 SW
Wednesday 11/8/17 0" 0" 15-25 G35 W-SW Natural avalanche on Crown Butte, Cooke City

lows around 20F

Tuesday 11/7/17 Brackett .1/1"
Shower .2/2"
Timber .2/2"
Carrot .1/1"
Madison .1/1"
Fisher .2/2"
10-20 W Natural and skier triggered wind slabs at Bridger

single digits F overnight

Monday 11/6/17 Brackett .2/2"
Shower .1/1"
Timber .07/3"
Carrot .1/1"
Madison .3/3"
Cooke .4/4"
10-15

15-20 G30 YC
W-SW
Sunday 11/5/17 Brackett .1/1"
Shower .1/1"
Timber 0"
Carrot .1/1"
Madison .6/6"
Fisher .6/10"
10-15 SW Natural wind slab on Saddle Peak.

Not all wx sites reporting on website

Saturday 11/4/17 .8/10" Bridger
1.2/10" Brackett
.5/8" Timber
.5/5" Shower
1/9" Carrot
1.2/8" Madison
1.4/6" Fisher
10-20 G30 W-SW Natural slab ava near Fairy Lake; Hyalite Peak
Friday 11/3/17 .5/2" Brackett
.2/2" Shower
.2/2" Lone
.4/3" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
1.1/10" Fisher
10-20 G35 SW
Thursday 11/2/17 .6/6" Brackett
1.4/14" Shower
.6/5" Timber
.4/6" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
.6/5" Fisher
5-15 W-SW
Wednesday 11/1/17 .8/6" Brackett
.6/6" Shower
0 Lone
0 Carrot
0 Madison
.9/8" Fisher
15-20 G30
G63 Timber
W

Recorded about 0800.

Thursday 10/26/17 .4/0" Brackett
.3/3" Shower
.4/2" Lone
.2/3" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
0 Fisher
5-10 G15
NW-NE
Monday 10/23/17 0" Brackett
.1/1" Shower
.1/1" Lone
.2/2" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
.8/5" Fisher
15-25 G30-60
G77 Hyalite
W
Sunday 10/22/17 0" Brackett
0" Shower
0" Lone
.2/2"" Carrot
.3/2" Madison
.3/3" Fisher
15-15 G30 W-SW
Saturday 10/21/17 .5/5" Bridger
.3/4" Shower
.5/5" Lone
.2/4" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
.2/2" Fisher
15-20
G30 Bridger
G40 Timber
W
Saturday 10/14/17 .1/2" Brackett
.4/6" Shower
.3/3" Lone
.4/4" Carrot
.5/3" Madison
.5/9" Cooke
10-20 W-N
Thursday 10/12/17 .2/0" Brackett
5" Bridger
.4/5" Shower
.3/2" Lone
.2/3" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
0 Fisher
15-25 W

wind-loading

Sunday 10/8/17 0 Brackett
.3/4" Shower
.3/3" Lone
.1/2" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
.2/1" Fisher
20-25 G50 SSW
Saturday 10/7/17 0 0 20-35 G62 SSW Skier fatality Imp Peak, S. Madison
Friday 10/6/17 0 0 8-12 G22 WSW
Thursday 10/5/17 .2/2 Brackett
0 Shower
0 Lone
.3/4" Carrot
.2/1" Madison
.3/3" Fisher
5-15 G 30 W-SW
Tuesday 10/3/17 .3/6" Bridger
.1/2" Shower
.1/2" Lone
.2/2" Carrot
0 Madison
.1/1" Fisher
15-20 Bridger
5-10 Timber
W Skier triggered small wind slab, Fairy Lake
Monday 10/2/17 .2/3" Bridger
.1/1" Shower
.4/6" Lone
.2/4" Carrot
.2/2" Madison
0 Fisher
10-20 NW

Temps at 5am are in the mid-20s.

Sunday 10/1/17 .3/0" Brackett
.4/3" Shower
.1/1" Lone
.1/2" Carrot
.1/1" Madison
.1/1" Fisher
20 G30 Bridger W

snow line around 9k in Bridgers

Sunday 9/24/17 .2 Brackett
0 Shower
0 Lone
0 Carrot
0 Madison
.2 Fisher
Calm NNE
Saturday 9/23/17 .5" Brackett
0 Shower
.1 Lone
.2/2" Carrot
0 Madison
.3/3" Cooke
Calm SSW
Friday 9/22/17 .6/6" Brackett
.6/4" Shower
.4/3" Lone
.6/5" Carrot
.6/4" Madison
1.7"/16" Fisher
5-15 N-NE

First day of Fall

Thursday 9/21/17 .9/6" Brackett
.4/3" Shower
.4/2" Lone
.6/3" Carrot
.8/4" Madison
.8/5" Fisher
Yes SW

24 hr precip @ 8am

Wednesday 9/20/17 .3 Brackett
.4 Shower
.3 Lone
.2 Carrot
.5 Madison
.6 Cooke
15-20 G35 S

24 hr precip @ 9am

Tuesday 9/19/17 1.4"/- Brackett
1.0/10" Shower
.9/6" Lone
1.0/7" Carrot
1.0/4" Madison
0.6/2" Fisher

24 hr precip as of 9am

Saturday 9/16/17 2.9" Brackett
1.3" Lone
1.3/4" Shower
1.7/2" Carrot
1.8/2" Madison
1.3/3" Fisher
5 G15 @ Alpine
NA Skier triggered in Tobacco Roots 9/17

First snow in mountains. 4-11" Bridger and Big Sky. 48 hour precip. totals